Nuclear and Thermal Power Plants of India 2023, Download PDF

Home » Static GK » Nuclear Power Plants of India

Nuclear and Thermal Power Plants: Nuclear and Thermal Power Plants are part of the Indian Static GK. You can expect 1 or 2 questions from this section in your Bank/Government Exams. Candidates must know the total number and locations of nuclear and thermal power plants in India. In this blog, we will provide you with a complete list of the nuclear power plants of India and Thermal Power Plants in India.

Nuclear Power Plants of India

Nuclear power is an important component of India’s energy mix, with currently 22 nuclear power reactors in operation at seven different nuclear power plants across the country. The plants are owned and operated by the Nuclear Power Corporation of India Limited (NPCIL), a public sector undertaking under the Department of Atomic Energy.

The first nuclear power plant in India was commissioned in 1969 at Tarapur, Maharashtra. Since then, India has developed a strong domestic nuclear energy program, with plans to increase its nuclear power capacity to 63 gigawatts by 2032. In addition to the currently operational plants, four more plants are under construction. We have mentioned below the list of nuclear power plants.

Power PlantLocationOperatorType Total Capacity (MW)
KudankulamTamil NaduNPCILVVER-10002,000
Madras (Kalpakkam)Tamil NaduNPCILIPHWR-220440
NaroraUttar PradeshNPCILIPHWR-220440

Thermal Power Plants of India

Thermal power plants are an important source of electricity generation in India, accounting for around 60% of the country’s total installed capacity. These power plants use fossil fuels such as coal, natural gas, and oil to generate electricity through the process of combustion.

India has a large number of thermal power plants, located in various parts of the country, and operated by both public and private sector entities. The largest thermal power plant in India is the 4,620 MW Vindhyachal Super Thermal Power Station in Madhya Pradesh. We have mentioned below the list of thermal power plants and stations in India.

StateThermal Power Plant
Madhya PradeshAmarkantak Thermal Power Plant
Satpura Thermal Power Plant
Sanjay Gandhi, Birsinghpur Thermal Power Plant
Shri Singaji Thermal Power Station Dongalia
Vindhyachal Thermal Power Station
Singrauli Super Thermal Power Station
MaharashtraAmravati Thermal Power plant
Chandrapur Thermal Power plant
Khaperkheda Thermal Power plant
Tiroda Thermal Power plant
Chandrapur Thermal Power plant
Solapur Super Thermal Power Station
Mauda Super Thermal Power Plant
Uttar PradeshAnpara Thermal Power plant
Dadri Thermal Power plant
Feroz Gandhi Unchahar Thermal Power plant
National Capital Thermal Power plant
Obra Thermal Power plant
Rihand Super Thermal Power plant
Rosa Thermal Power plant
BiharBarauni Thermal Power Station
Patratu Thermal Power Station
Khalgaon Super Thermal Power Project
KarnatakaRaichur Thermal Power station
Bellary Thermal Power station
Yermarus Thermal Power Station
Udupi Thermal Power plant
ChhattisgarhSipat Thermal Power Plant
Lara Super Thermal Power Plant
Korba Thermal Power Plant
Bhilai Thermal Power Plant
JharkhandBokaro Thermal Power plant
Patratu Thermal Power plant
RajasthanChhabra Thermal Power plant
Kalisindh Thermal Power plant
Kota Thermal Power plant
Suratgarh Super Thermal Power Plant
Barsingsar Thermal Power Station
Anta Thermal Power Station
Ramgarh Gas Thermal Power Station
West BengalDurgapur Thermal Power plant
Farakka Thermal Power plant
Mejia Thermal Power Station
Kolaghat Thermal Power Station
Bakreshwar Thermal Power Station
Durgapur Steel Thermal Power Station
Budge Budge Thermal Power Plant
Sagardighi Thermal Power Station
Tamil NaduEnnore Thermal Power plant
Mettur Thermal Power plant
Neyveli Thermal Power Station
Tuticorin Thermal Power Station
IND Barath Thermal Power Plant
GujaratGandhinagar Thermal Power plant
Mudra Thermal Power plant
Sikka Thermal Power plant
Ukai Thermal Power plant
Wanakbori Thermal Power plant
Akrimota Thermal Power Station
Kutch Lignite Thermal Power Station
Sabarmati Thermal Power Station
OdishaHirakud Captive Thermal Power plant
Jharsuguda Thermal Power plant
Talcher Thermal Power plant
Andhra PradeshRamagundam Thermal Power plant
Simhadri Thermal Power plant
AssamNamrup Thermal Power Plant

Download Free E-book

Click here to download: Nuclear and Thermal Power Plants of India

Sample question:

1. In which Indian state is the Simhapuri Thermal Power Station located?

a. Karnataka

b. Tamil Nadu

c. Andhra Pradesh

d. Telangana

Solution: C

Learn this eBook, which might earn you a brownie point in your next Bank/Government Exam.

Also Read:

RAMSAR Sites in IndiaInternational and Domestic Airports in India
List of Famous Temples in IndiaUNESCO World Heritage Sites

Nuclear Power Plants of India: Frequently Asked Questions

Q.1 How many Nuclear plants are currently operating in India?

Ans. There are 7 nuclear power plants currently operating in India.

Q.2 What are Thermal Power Plants?

Ans. Thermal power plants use fossil fuels such as coal, natural gas, and oil to generate electricity through the process of combustion

Q.3 What is Nuclear Power Plant?

Ans. A nuclear power plant is a facility that generates electricity by harnessing the energy produced by a nuclear reaction.


Leave a comment

Download 500+ Free Ebooks (Limited Offer)👉👉