CGL Full Form, All You Need to Know About SSC CGL

CGL Full Form

SSC CGL Full Form: SSC CGL Full form is Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Examination. It is one of the premium entrance exams in India for the recruitment of graduates into various government positions. SSC CGL is one of the top choices for fresh graduates looking for government jobs in India. In this blog, we will be discussing the SSC CGL Full Form, its significance, and exam pattern.


SSC CGL Full Form: Overview

Exam NameSSC CGL
SSC CGL Full FormStaff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Examination
Exam Conducting AuthorityStaff Selection Commission (SSC)
SSC official
SSC Eligibility CriteriaAge limit – 18 to 30 years and Educational Qualification – Graduation passed
Application modeOnline
Application feeRs 100 (UR/ OBC), Fees exempted for other categories and females
Selection ProcessTier 1 – CBT
Tier 2 – CBT
Tier 3 – Descriptive Test in English/ Hindi (Writing Skill Test)
Tier 4 – Skill Test (Typing Test)
Exam modeOnline and Offline
Exam DurationTier 1: 60 minutes
Tier 2: 120 minutes
Tier 3: 60 minutes
Tier 4: 15 minutes

SSC Full Form

SSC Full Form: The SSC full form is Staff Selection Commission. It was established in the year 1975 as a central agency for the recruitment of candidates in various government jobs for various posts in the various Ministries and Departments of the Government of India and in Subordinate Offices.

SSC conducts various types of exams for the recruitment of candidates. The most common exams that are conducted by SSC include SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SSC MTS, SSC JE and SSC GD Constable.

SSC CGL Full Form

CGL Full Form: CGL full form is Combined Graduate Level Examination. It is one of the popular exam segments of SSC which is conducted for recruiting graduate candidates in Group A, B and C posts across various Ministries and Departments of the Government of India and in Subordinate Offices.

What is SSC CGL? 

SSC CGL is a very popular recruitment exam conducted by the Staff Selection Commission(SSC) for the recruitment of candidates in various Group B and C positions in ministries, departments and organisations of the Government of India.

The recruitment of candidates in SSC CGL takes place through a robust system of testing in the areas of quantitative aptitude, reasoning, general awareness and general english. Every year around 20 lakh or more candidates appear for the SSC CGL exam and out of those around 5% of the candidates make the final selection for the job posts after completing the rigorous assessment by SSC.

The various posts for which SSC CGL is conducted are as follows:

  • Assistant Audit Officer
  • Assistant Accounts Officer,
  • Inspector of Income Tax,
  • Central Excise Inspector,
  • Assistant Section Officer,
  • Upper Division Clerk,
  • Tax Assistant,
  • Assistant Enforcement Officer,
  • Postal Inspector
  • Junior Statistical Officer etc.

SSC CGL Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Exam Pattern: The SSC CGL exam pattern is divided into 4 phases or tiers. The details of which are provided below in a tabular form

TiersPaper TypeExam Mode
Tier – 1Objective Multiple ChoiceComputer-Based (online)
Tier – 2Objective Multiple ChoiceComputer-Based (online)
Tier – 3Descriptive Paper in English/HindiPen and Paper mode
Tier – 4Skill Test/Computer Proficiency TestWherever Applicable

SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam Pattern

This exam is mandatory for all the aspirants appearing in the SSC CGL. It can be regarded as the preliminary exam

SubjectQuestionsMaximum MarksTotal Duration
General Intelligence & Reasoning2550
Quantitative Aptitude2550
General English2550
General Awareness2550
Total10020060 minutes

SSC CGL Tier 2 Exam Pattern

In this phase, two exams are conducted on the same day, the details of the Tier-II exams are listed below

PaperSubjectTotal QuestionsMaximum
Paper IQuantitative Aptitude1002002 Hours
Paper-IIGeneral English2002002 Hours
Paper IIIStatistics1002002 Hours
Paper IVGeneral Studies
(Finance & Economics)
1002002 Hours

SSC CGL Tier 3 Exam Pattern

The exam pattern for SSC CGL Tier-3 is as follows

Exam PatternMarksTime
Descriptive Paper in English/Hindi (Writing of Essay, Precis, Letter, Application, etc.)100 marks1 hour or 60 minutes
(80 minutes for
PWD category)

SSC CGL Tier 4 Exam Pattern

The exam pattern for this phase is different and is applicable for some selected posts

Skill TestMaximum MarksTimePosts ( for which applicable) 
Data Entry Speed Test (DEST)No marks only qualifying in nature15 MinutesTax Assistant (CBDT & CBEC)
CPT: Computer Proficiency Test (Word Processing/ Excel Sheet/ PowerPoint)No marks only qualifying in nature45 MinutesAssistant Section Officer in CSS, MEA, SFIO, GSI,

SSC CGL Eligibility Criteria

SSC CGL Eligibility Criteria: SSC CGL application can be filled up by candidates who are graduates and are falling in the age range of 18-27 years for maximum posts, with exception of certain posts that requires candidates in the age range of 20-30 years and up to 32 years of age for some selected posts.

Also read:

SSC CGL 2022 Notification

SSC CGL 2022 Eligibility

SSC CGL 2022 Admit Card

SSC CGL 2022 Syllabus

SSC CGL 2022 Vacancy

SSC CGL Salary

SSC CGL Full Form: Conclusion

SSC CGL is regarded as one of the most popular and important exams providing opportunities for recruitment for graduate candidates in various posts in Ministries and Departments of the Government of India and in Subordinate Offices. The blog provides details on SSC CGL Full form for helping candidates understand the SSC CGL full form and its significance, exam pattern and selection process.


SSC CGL Full Form FAQs

Q1. What is SSC CGL full form?

Ans. SSC CGL Full form is Staff Selection Commission Combined Graduate Level Examination.

Q2. What is SSC Full Form?

Ans. SSC Full form is Staff Selection Commission.

Q3. When was SSC established?

Ans. SSC was established in the year 1975.

Q4. How many tiers are there in SSC CGL?

Ans. SSC CGL is conducted in 4 tiers which are: Tier 1, Tier 2, Tier 3 and Tier 4.


Download 500+ Free Ebooks (Limited Offer)👉👉