Australia Wins 6th ICC World Cup as they Defeat India by 6 Wickets

Australia World Cup Winner

Travis Head showcased a brilliant century, while Marnus Labuschagne played the role of a solid anchor with a gritty half-century as Australia clinched their sixth World Cup title by defeating India by six wickets in the final at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

India Vs Australia World Cup 2023 Final Highlights

Australia brought India’s formidable unbeaten streak in the World Cup 2023 to an abrupt end, clinching their record-extending sixth world title in a thrilling summit clash at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium. Travis Head’s outstanding fifth ODI century, combined with a determined fifty from Marnus Labuschagne, shattered India’s aspirations as Australia successfully chased down 241, winning by six wickets and prolonging India’s yearning for an ICC title. Pat Cummins joined the esteemed ranks of Australian World Cup captains, following in the footsteps of Allan Border, Steve Waugh, Ponting, and Michael Clarke.

Head, who missed the first four games due to a broken finger, displayed remarkable resilience with a score of 137, joining Ricky Ponting and Adam Gilchrist as the third Australian batter to hit a century in a World Cup final. His innings, reminiscent of Ricky Ponting’s dominant display in the 2003 final, marked the fourth-highest individual score in a World Cup final.

Player of the Match

Travis Head earned the Man of the Match accolade for his outstanding innings of 137 off 120 balls, boasting a strike rate of 114.17. His innings was adorned with 15 boundaries and four sixes. Head formed a formidable 192-run partnership with Marnus Labuschagne, who contributed an unbeaten 58 to the team’s victory.

Player of the Tournament

Player of the Tournament - Virat Kohli
ICC ODI World Cup 2023

Virat Kohli was honored with the Player of the Tournament award for his remarkable performance, accumulating 765 runs, taking a wicket, and securing five catches. Furthermore, the former Indian captain clinched the award for the most fifties, tallying six during the tournament, and also received recognition for accumulating the highest number of runs.

Most Wickets

Mohammed Shami emerged as the leading wicket-taker of the tournament, securing the “most wickets” award with an impressive tally of 24 wickets. The veteran pacer was also honored with the “Best Bowling Figures” award for his exceptional performance in the India vs New Zealand semi-final match, where he took 7 wickets.

Most Sixes

The Indian skipper, Rohit Sharma, received the “most sixes” award for hitting a remarkable 31 sixes throughout the tournament.

Highest Score

Glenn Maxwell was honored with the awards for “Highest Score” and “Highest Striker Rate” for his outstanding performance against Afghanistan at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. Maxwell scored an unbeaten 201 with a remarkable strike rate of 150.37, contributing significantly to his team’s historic victory.

Most Hundreds, Most Dismissals By a Wicketkeeper

South African wicket-keeper batter Quinton de Kock bid farewell to the 50-over format of the game with an impressive tally of 594 runs, including four centuries. The 30-year-old received the award for “Most Hundreds” and also secured the accolade for “Most Dismissals By a Wicketkeeper” with a total of 20 dismissals.

Most Catches

New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell received the award for “Most Catches” in the tournament, concluding with an impressive tally of 11 catches to his credit.

ICC World Cup Winners List

1975West IndiesAustralia
1979West IndiesEngland
1983IndiaWest Indies
1996Sri LankaAustralia
1999AustraliaSouth Africa
2007AustraliaSri Lanka
2011IndiaSri Lanka
2015AustraliaNew Zealand
2019EnglandNew Zealand


Download 500+ Free Ebooks (Limited Offer)👉👉