List of Chief Ministers of India 2022 | Current CM of States of India

Home » Articles » Chief Ministers of India

Chief Minister of India: India has a total of 28 states and 8 Union Territories as of 2022. Among these 28 states and 2 union territories have chief ministers as the executive authority in case of administration and governance. It is a very important and scoring topic that is part of the general awareness section of most competitive exams like SSC CHSL, SSC CGL, Railways, Banking exams, and other exams, etc. In this blog, we have listed down the most updated list of chief ministers of India updated till December 2022.

List of Current Indian Chief Ministers 2022

StateChief Minister
Andhra PradeshShri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy
Arunachal PradeshShri Pema Khandu
AssamShri Himanta Biswa Sarma
BiharShri Nitish Kumar
ChhattisgarhShri Bhupesh Baghel
Delhi (NCT)Shri Arvind Kejriwal
GoaShri Pramod Sawant
GujaratShri Bhupendra Patel
HaryanaShri Manohar Lal
Himachal PradeshShri Sukhvinder Singh Sukhu
JharkhandShri Hemant Soren
KarnatakaSri Basavaraj Bommai
KeralaShri Pinarayi Vijayan
Madhya PradeshShri Shivraj Singh Chouhan
MaharashtraShri Eknath Shinde
ManipurShri N. Biren Singh
MeghalayaShri Conrad Kongkal Sangma
MizoramShri Pu Zoramthanga
NagalandShri Neiphiu Rio
OdishaShri Naveen Patnaik
Puducherry (UT)Shri N. Rangaswamy
PunjabShri Bhagwant Singh Mann
RajasthanShri Ashok Gehlot
SikkimShri PS Golay
Tamil NaduShri M. K. Stalin
TelanganaShri K Chandrasekhar Rao
TripuraDr. Manik Saha
Uttar PradeshShri Yogi Aditya Nath
UttarakhandShri Pushkar Singh Dhami
West BengalKm. Mamata Banerjee

Powers and Functions of Chief Minister

The chief minister or CM has the following powers and functions in the state government:

  1. The CM recommends a list of names for his council of ministers to the governor.
  2. The CM distributes portfolio to the selected ministers.
  3. The CM serves as the chief of the council of ministers and therefore can dissolve the council by notice.
  4. Acts as a bridge between the council of ministers and the governor.
  5. The CM acts as the head of the state board of planning
  6. CM is the primary spokesperson of the state.

Some Important Facts on Chief Ministers of India

  • Mamata Banerjee, Chief Minister of West Bengal is the only woman chief minister in India as of now.
  • Sucheta Kripalini was the first women chief minister in India. She served as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh from 1963-1967.
  • Pawan Kumar Chamling has served the longest time as chief minister, he was Chief Minister of Sikkim for 24 years.
  • Of the current chief ministers, Naveen Patnaik has the longest incumbency, he is serving as the chief minister of Odhisa since the year 2000.
  • Mizoram chief minister Zoramthanga is the oldest serving chief minister.
  • Arunachal Pradesh chief minister Pema Khandu is the youngest serving chief minister.
  • Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar has served a most number of times as chief minister of state. He was elected a total 7 times.


Oliveboard Mobile App
  • Video Lessons, Textual Lessons & Notes
  • Topic Tests covering all topics with detailed solutions
  • Sectional Tests for QA, DI, EL, LR
  • All India Mock Tests for performance analysis and all India percentile
  • General Knowledge (GK) Tests

Free videos, free mock tests, and free GK tests to evaluate course content before signing up!


This was all about the list of chief ministers of India, it will prove to be very beneficial to the students appearing for the upcoming competitive exams like SSC CHSL, SSC CGL, banking and railway exams etc. For more updates, stay connected to Oliveboard.


What is the full form of CM?

The full form of CM is Chief Minister.

Who is the youngest Chief Minister?

Pema Khandu, Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh is the youngest chief minister.

Who is the oldest Chief Minister?

Zoramthanga, CM of Mizoram is the oldest chief minister.

Who appoints CM?

The governor appoints CM in a state and in a union territory, the CM is appointed by the President of India.

Who is the first woman chief minister of India?

Sucheta Kripalini was the first women chief minister in India. She served as the chief minister of Uttar Pradesh from 1963 to 1967.