Mode of selection in SSC CHSL Exam 2022 – Complete details                    

Home » SSC & Railways » SSC » SSC CHSL » Mode of selection in SSC CHSL

Mode of selection in SSC CHSL – Here is everything you need to know about the mode of selection in SSC CHSL after being revised by the Staff Selection Commission. The SSC CHSL selection process revised on December 2022 by the committee of Staff Selection commission.

Free Mock test

The mode of selection in SSC CHSL shortened to 2 Tier. In the previous pattern, the mode of selection in SSC CHSL happen to have total 3 Tier that is Tier 1, Tier 2 and Tier 3. Now the mode of selection for SSC CHSL has only Tier 1 and Tier 2, tier 3 is merged with tier 2. The candidate must clear these two tiers to get selected. Even those candidates who have applied under current recruitment cycle come under this news selection process. In this blog we will give you details on the mode of selection in SSC CHSL as per revised pattern.

SSC CHSL selection process 2022:

As per revised SSC CHSL pattern there are only two tiers that a candidate needs to clear to get selected.

  • Tier 1: Objective-type computer based exam
  • Tier 2: Objective-type CBE and Skill test.

Tier 1 selection process for SSC CHSL selection process:

  • The Tier 1 in SSC CHSL exam has an objective test with maximum 200 marks and here are few things you must know about the SSC CHSL Tier 1 selection process.
    • This is online exam.
    • The exam basically has 4 subjects. Those are basic knowledge of Quantitative Aptitude, General Intelligence, English language, and General Awareness.
    • The total number of multiple choice questions will be 100. Each question rewarded with 2 marks and there will be negative mark for every wrong answer. So it’s advised for candidates not to take any advising games.
    • The duration of exam will be 60 minutes
    • The question will be on moderate level and there is high level of competition, good marks are must to get into selection process.

The table given below shows the revised exam pattern:

SubjectsNumber of questionsMarks
Quantitative Aptitude2550
General Intelligence2550
English language2550
General Awareness2550

Tier 2 selection process for SSC CHSL selection process:

The Tier 2 SSC CHSL is descriptive and objective. Tier 2 has two modules. Tier 2 includes two sessions both sessions take place on the same day. Session 1 includes Section-I, Section II, and Module-I of Section III. Session 2 includes Module II of Section III (Skill Test/ Typing Test). SSC CHSL Tier-II has Objective Type, Multiple choice questions, except for Module II of Section III.

Each session will be set in English and Hindi. There is a negative mark allotted for every wrong answer the negative mark will be 1. Module I of Section III i.e. Computer Knowledge Test is mandatory but qualifying in nature.

The skill test and typing test are conducted as part of module II of session III on the same day. A skill test is a qualifying process. The Skill Test will calculate errors to a maximum of two decimal places.

Part A: Skill Test is mandatory for DEO/DEO Grade ‘A’: The duration if this exam will be 15 minutes. A printed copy in English with about 2000-2200 key depression. The candidate must enter the same in the computer.

Part B: Typing Test for other posts including LDC/JSA: The candidate can choose between English or Hindi in typing test. The candidate that chooses English must be able to type 35 words per minute and those who choose Hindi must be able to type 30 words per minute. That is about 10500 key depression per hour and about 9000 key depression per hour.

SessionSubjectNumber of questionsMaximum MarksDuration
Session 1Section 1 – Module 1: Mathematic abilities Module 2: Reasoning and general intelligence.30+30=60 marks180 marks1 hour for each section. 1 hour and 20 minutes for candidates eligible for scribe
 Section 2- Module 1: English language and comprehension Module 2: Reasoning general intelligence. General awareness.40+20= 60 marks180 marks1 hour for each section. 1 hour and 20 minutes for candidates eligible for scribe
 Section 3- Module 1: computer knowledge module15 marks45 marks15 minutes or 20 minutes for the candidates eligible scribe
Session 2Section-3 Module 1: skill test/typing test modulePart A: Skill test for DEOs. 15 minutes or 20 minutes for the candidates eligible scribe
 Part B: Typing Test for LDC/JSA.  10 minutes or 15 minutes for the candidates eligible for scribe

Mode of selection in SSC CHSL Final Allotment:

The performance of candidates in Tiers 1 and 2 will determine the final SSC CHSL selection process and departmental allotment. The board will assign the candidates to postings for PA, SA, DEO, and LDC based on a merit list. After the results are announced, the posting preferences cannot be changed. Therefore, the decision must be carefully considered.


Oliveboard Mobile App
  • Video Lessons, Textual Lessons & Notes
  • Topic Tests covering all topics with detailed solutions
  • Sectional Tests for QA, DI, EL, LR
  • All India Mock Tests for performance analysis and all India percentile
  • General Knowledge (GK) Tests

Free videos, free mock tests, and free GK tests to evaluate course content before signing up!

Free Mock test

Frequently Asked Questions

What is mode of selection in SSC CHSL 2022?

The Selection process of SSC CHSL involves two tiers. Tier 1 and Tier 2, the tier 1 have objective computer- based test and tier 2 consist of objective + skill test.

Does Tier 1 of SSC CHSL selection process have negative mark?

Yes, tier 1 SSC CHSL have negative mark of 0.50 for every incorrect answer.

How many mistakes can one make in typing test in CHSL exam?

The percentage error for the typing test would be 5% to 7%.

Which Tier is difficult in SSC CHSL?

Tier 1 is toughest among the exams in SSC CHSL. This is because the level of competition is higher and you must be very careful in scoring higher score as possible