Lionel Messi Beats Haaland to Win Eighth Ballon d’Or 2023

Lionel Messi won his eighth Ballon d’Or award on October 30, 2023, beating Erling Haaland and Kylian Mbappé to the prize. This is a record-extending win for Messi, who previously won the award in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019, and 2021.

Reasons Behind His Win

Messi’s win is largely due to his performances at the 2022 World Cup, where he led Argentina to their first World Cup title in 36 years. Messi scored seven goals and assisted three more at the tournament, and was named the Player of the Tournament.

Messi also had a solid season at club level with Paris Saint-Germain, scoring 11 goals and providing 15 assists in 34 appearances.

Haaland and Mbappé are both considered to be the future of football, but Messi showed once again that he is still the best player in the world. He is a true legend of the game, and his eight Ballon d’Or awards are a testament to his incredible talent and achievements.

About the Ballon d’Or

The Ballon d’Or (French for “Golden Ball”) is an annual football award presented by French news magazine France Football since 1956. Until 2009, the award was given to the best male player playing for a European club, but since 2010, it has been awarded to the best male player in the world, regardless of nationality or club affiliation.

  • The Ballon d’Or is one of the most prestigious awards in football and is considered to be the highest individual honor in the sport.
  • The award is voted on by a panel of journalists from around the world, and the winner is presented with the award at a gala ceremony in Paris each year.
  • The Ballon d’Or has been won by some of the greatest players in football history, including Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, Johan Cruyff, Michel Platini, and Zinedine Zidane.

The Ballon d’Or is a highly anticipated award each year, and the voting process is often controversial.

Notable winners of the Ballon d’Or:

  • Lionel Messi (8 times)
  • Cristiano Ronaldo (5 times)
  • Johan Cruyff (3 times)
  • Zinedine Zidane (3 times)
  • Ronaldo Nazário (2 times)
  • Ronaldinho (2 times)
  • Luka Modrić (1 time)

The Ballon d’Or is a prestigious award that is highly regarded by the footballing community. It is a recognition of the best player in the world, and it is a coveted prize by all footballers.

About Lionel Messi

Lionel Andrés Messi (born 24 June 1987), also known as Leo Messi, is an Argentine professional footballer who plays as a forward for and captains both Ligue 1 club Paris Saint-Germain and the Argentina national team.

  • Widely regarded as one of the greatest players of all time, Messi has won a record eight Ballon d’Or awards, a record six European Golden Shoes, and in 2020 he was named to the Ballon d’Or Dream Team.
  • Until leaving the club in 2021, he had spent his entire professional career with Barcelona, where he won a club-record 34 trophies, including ten La Liga titles, seven Copa del Rey titles and the UEFA Champions League four times.
  • With his country, he won the 2021 Copa América and the 2022 FIFA World Cup.
  • Messi is known for his goalscoring record, dribbling skills, vision, and passing.
  • He has scored over 700 senior career goals for club and country and has the most goals scored by a player for a single club.
  • He has also provided the most assists in La Liga history.

Messi is a role model for young footballers all over the world, and he is widely admired by fans and pundits alike. He is a true legend of the game, and his legacy will be remembered for many years to come.

Leo Messi’s notable achievements:

  • 8 Ballon d’Or awards
  • 6 European Golden Shoes
  • 1 FIFA World Cup title
  • 1 Copa América title
  • 10 La Liga titles
  • 7 Copa del Rey titles
  • 4 UEFA Champions League titles

Messi is a record-breaker and a serial winner. He is one of the greatest footballers to ever play the game.


Download 500+ Free Ebooks (Limited Offer)👉👉