Delhi Judiciary Eligibility: Overview, Selection Process, Criteria

Delhi Judiciary Eligibility – Every year, the Delhi High Court holds a Judicial Services Examination to recruit members of the subordinate judiciary. A total of 19 Civil Judge vacancies in the Delhi High Court have been advertised in the most recent advertisement for the year 2020. The Delhi Judicial Service Exam is held to recruit Civil Judges for the Delhi High Court. The selection procedure is divided into three stages: the preliminary exam, the main exam, and the interview round. The prelims exam is made up of objective-type questions, while the mains exam is made up of descriptive-type questions. 

Given the current state of affairs, the notification for the Delhi Judiciary Exam 2021 is expected to be delayed this year. In terms of eligibility, the minimum age to apply for the exam is 22 years, with a maximum age limit of 35 years for the general category. Continue reading for more details on the Delhi Judiciary Eligibility Criteria.

Number of attempts

The number of attempts you can make to pass the Judiciary Service Examination is determined by the upper and lower age limits of each state. The lower and upper age limits for the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination are 21 years and 32 years, respectively. If you perform the necessary calculations, you will discover that you have 12 attempts. Most state Judiciary Service Examinations, however, are not held every year. As a result, the maximum number of attempts you can make is 6.

Delhi Judicial Services Selection Process 2021

If you are securing the minimum marks, then you are eligible for the next stage. Passing through all three stages with the required percentage will make you eligible for an appointment to the post of Civil Judge in Delhi High Court. The selection process for the Delhi Judiciary exam is given below. 

  1. Preliminary Examination 
  2. Main Examination 
  3. Viva-voce 

Eligibility Criteria For Civil Judges In Delhi In 2021

The following are the eligibility requirements for the Delhi judicial service exam. You can fill up the form and sit for the exam if you meet the required Delhi Judiciary Eligibility Criteria.

Age limit

  • You must be under the age of 32 at the time of the examination, which is publicly published each year.
  • The maximum age limit is increased for five years for ex-servicemen who have served in the military for at least five years.

Age relaxation

  • If you are a member of the Scheduled Tribes/ Scheduled Castes, your maximum age limit is increased by five years.


  • Applicants must be Indian citizens

Educational Qualification

  • Applicants must be practising as an advocate in India or have the qualifications to practice as an Advocate under the Advocates Act, 1961. Any aspirant who wishes to take the examination must hold an LL.B. from a recognized university. The degree can be obtained through a three-year course or a five-year integrated course. 


The eligibility criteria enable candidates to know exactly how they should go through. We hope the article provides you with the relevant details regarding the Delhi Judiciary Eligibility in detail including the age limit, educational qualifications, etc. For any further queries, contact us at Oliveboard.

Frequently Asked Question

How many times can you take the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination before passing?

The maximum number of attempts you can make is 6.

What is the minimum percentage required to take the Delhi Judiciary Service Examination?

There is no mention of a minimum percentage required to sit for the Delhi Judiciary Service Exam.

What exactly is the Delhi Judiciary Selection Process?

The Delhi Judiciary Selection Process consists of three stages: 
Interview rounds

What is the minimum age to apply for the Delhi Judiciary Exam?

To apply for the Delhi Judiciary Exam, a candidate must be under the age of 32.

What is the maximum number of attempts in the Delhi Judiciary Exam?

The candidate may take the Delhi Judiciary Exam up to six times.

How many subjects are in the Delhi Judiciary Mains Exam?

GK & language, Civil Law I, Civil Law II, and Criminal Law are the four subjects.


Leave a comment

Download 500+ Free Ebooks (Limited Offer)👉👉