SSC CHSL Selection Process 2023, Check Complete Process

Home » SSC & Railways » SSC CHSL Selection Process 2023

SSC CHSL Selection Process

The Staff Selection Commission (SSC) Combined Higher Secondary Level (CHSL) exam is conducted for the recruitment of candidates in various government departments and ministries. The selection process of SSC CHSL involves two stages – Tier I, and Tier II.


SSC CHSL Selection Process Tier 1

SSC CHSL Tier 1 selection process 2023
General Intelligence2550
English Language2550
Quantitative Aptitude2550
General Awareness / General Knowledge2550

Tier I – Computer-Based Examination

The first stage of the SSC CHSL selection process is a computer-based examination. The exam is conducted online and consists of four sections – General Intelligence, English Language, Quantitative Aptitude, and General Awareness. The duration of the exam is 60 minutes, and the total marks are 200. The questions are of objective type and are available in both English and Hindi languages.

The candidates are required to score a minimum qualifying mark in each section to be eligible for the next stage of the selection process. The qualifying marks for each section are decided by the SSC and are subject to change every year. The candidates who clear the Tier I exam are shortlisted for the Tier II exam.

SSC CHSL Selection Process 2023 for Tier 2

The SSC CHSL exam pattern has been changed this year, find the updated exam pattern below.

of Questions
Maximum MarksTime allowed
(2 hours
& 15 minutes)
Module-I:   Mathematical Abilities
Module II:      Reasoning and General Intelligence.
Total = 60
= 180
1 hour (for each section) (1 hour & 20 minutes for the candidates eligible for a scribe as  per Para-8.1 and 8.2)
Module-I:            English Language & Comprehension
Module II:          General Awareness
Total = 60
= 180
Module-I:        Computer Knowledge Module
= 45
15 Minutes (20   minutes for the      candidates eligible      for a scribe as per Para-8.1 and 8.2)
Module-II: Skill Test/ Typing Test Module
Part A: Skill Test for DEOs.15 Minutes (20 minutes for the   candidates eligible  for a scribe as per Para-8.1 and 8.2)
   Part B: Typing Test for LDC/ JSA.10 Minutes (15 minutes for the      candidates eligible       for a scribe as per Para-8.1 and 8.2)

*For the visually handicapped (40% disability) the test duration is 30 minutes.

SSC CHSL Selection Process 2023 – Final Selection

The final selection of the candidates is done based on their performance in Tier I and Tier II exams. The SSC prepares a merit list based on the marks obtained by the candidates in all two stages of the selection process.

The candidates who score higher marks in all three stages are given priority in the merit list. The candidates who clear the Tier II exam are called for document verification. The candidates are required to produce the original documents for verification, failing which their candidature may be canceled.

SSC CHSL Selection Process 2023 – Conclusion

The SSC CHSL selection process is a two-stage process that involves a computer-based examination and a skill test/typing test. The final selection of the candidates is based on their performance in all the stages.

SSC CHSL Notification 2023SSC CHSL Syllabus 2023
SSC CHSL Salary 2023SSC CHSL Application Form


Oliveboard Mobile App
  • Video Lessons, Textual Lessons & Notes
  • Topic Tests covering all topics with detailed solutions
  • Sectional Tests for QA, DI, EL, LR
  • All India Mock Tests for performance analysis and all India percentile
  • General Knowledge (GK) Tests

Free videos, free mock tests, and free GK tests to evaluate course content before signing up!

Free Mock test

SSC CHSL Selection Process – FAQs

Q1. How many seats are there in SSC CHSL 2023?

Ans. There are approximately 1600 vacancies available in SSC CHSL 2023.

Q2. What is the SSC CHSL Selection Process 2023?

Ans. In this article, you get complete information about SSC CHSL Selection Process.

Q3. How many stages are there in the SSC CHSL Selection process?

Ans. There are 2 stages in the SSC CHSL Selection process – Tier 1 and Tier 2.


Download 500+ Free Ebooks (Limited Offer)👉👉